Arkansas’ 18-3 Run Leads To Win Over UNI

FAYETTEVILLE – Jaylin Williams had two blocked shots and two baskets to spur an 18-3 run inside the final 4:10 to lead #15/16 Arkansas to a 93-80 victory over Northern Iowa Wednesday night at Bud Walton Arena.

By Mike Cawood

Several Razorbacks had standout performances in the win.

  • Chris Lykes led all scorers with 26 points for his 17th career 20-point game.
  • JD Notae just missed his second career triple-double with 17 points, nine assists and eight rebounds with just one turnover.
  • Stanley Umude early had a double-double with 10 points and nine rebounds.
  • Williams finished with 11 points, a career-high seven assists and six rebounds.

Overall, six Razorbacks scored in double figures as Davonte Davis and Au’Diese Toney each scored 10.

Northern Iowa stayed close as the Panthers drained 17-of-37 (45.9 percent) from 3-point range. However, the Razorbacks dished out 21 assists and only committed five turnovers to secure the win.

Arkansas had four runs of at least 7-0 in the game but UNI answered with runs of their own three times. The last Razorback run was extended to a 13-0 run that lead the decisive 18-3 spurt.

The last run started with the game tied at 75 with 4:10 to play. Arkansas scored to take a two-point lead only to see the Panthers’ AJ Green sank a 3-pointer to lead by one, 78-77 with 3:13 left. From that point, Williams had a put-back, Toney hit a 3-pointer and Williams made a layup. Lykes hit four free throws and Notae two to cap the 13-0 run and put the Hogs up 90-79. The 3:29 minute UNI drought ended with a made free throw by Noah Carter with 41 seconds left.

Trae Berhow led UNI with 23 points, making 7-of-11 from 3-point range.

Arkansas will hit the road for two games to participate in the Hall of Fame Classic, played Monday and Tuesday (Nov. 22-23) at Kansas City’s T-Mobile Center. Arkansas will face Kansas State in the opener with tipoff set for approximately 8 pm and the game will be televised on ESPNews. Arkansas will face either Cincinnati or Illinois on Tuesday with the losers’ bracket set for 6 pm on ESPNews and the winners’ bracket is set for 8:30 pm on ESPN2.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.