Community Action continuing efforts to reorganize

For the past several years the Southeast Arkansas Community Action Agency has struggled with keeping the agency in line with State and federal regulators, maintaining a functioning board, and keeping its important programs working. The agency has lost Head Start, which was its largest, and a vital, program for the region. Southeast Community Action serves the five counties of southeast Arkansas and has been around for many years. There are many such agencies throughout Arkansas and the United States.

At this time theSoutheast Agency is operating the following programs:

  • LIHEAP-provides energy assistance, helps with bills residents cannot afford when funding is available
  • CARES-provides assistance due to covid
  • CSBG-community services block grant to help people become self sufficent
  • Commodities-provides food for those in need
  • Clothes Closet-helps with clothing needs of those with low incomes

The current board members who oversee and control the agency are as follows:
*Ashley County
Elected Official-David Streeter
Private Sector-Idia Mason
Low Income-Ada Stanley

*Bradley County
Elected Official-Carol Hopper
Private Sector-Marilyn Smith
Low Income-Clinton Webb

*Chicot County
Elected Official-Tomeka Butler
Private Sector-Tamika Washington
Low Income-Rose Bates

*Desha County
Elected Official-Leroy Hood
Private Sector-Vacant
Low Income-Monetta Willis

*Drew County
Elected Official-Mayor Toni Perry
Private Sector-Chris Allen
Low Income-Marcus Allen

The various board positions are chosen by public hearings. A member does not have to be an elected official, member of the private sector or be low income to represent that portion of the community.

The current board is as follows:
Chairman Carol Hooper
Vice Chair Tamika Washington
Treasure Chris Allen
Parliamentarian Rose Bates
Secretary Marcus Allen

Southeast Arkansas has facilities in all five counties. The Administrative headquarters are located in Warren.

At the board’s last meeting, held December 11, 2021, one board member, I’Sierene Brown of Desha County was voted off the board by a 9-4 vote. The current officers were elected and program reports were submitted and reviewed.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.