State CTE Showcase celebration at Warren School District

WARREN, Ark. – State officials, local officials, and business and industry partners gathered Tuesday at South East Arkansas Community-Based Education Center (SEACBEC) to celebrate the career and technical educational accomplishments of Warren High School and Warren School District during Arkansas Career and Technical Education (CTE) Month. WSD was selected by the Arkansas Department of Education: Division of Career and Technical Education to host this CTE Showcase.

Superintendent Bryan Cornish welcomed guests and Mayor Denisa Pennington discussed how Bradley County was one of the first to receive the distinction of ACT Work Ready Community in Arkansas in 2019. Janie Carter, former workforce grant manager with UAM Crossett, spoke on the history of the program and the significance of this distinction for Southeast Arkansas. SEACBEC Director Devin McDiarmid discussed the collaboration with Ruthie Courtney, WHS Work-based Learning coordinator and WHS principal, Tiffany Gathen. SEACBEC and WHS faculty have been working with students on completing the WorkKeys assessments prior to students sitting for the National Career Readiness Certification.

Dr. Sonja Wright-McMurry, Senior Associate Director for the Division of Career and Technical Education, provided insight on the connection of CTE course completion to increased graduation rates. She went on to applaud WSD, WHS, and SEACBEC in their efforts to successfully provide students work-based learning and career readiness opportunities.

Guests heard from a panel of CTE students which included Hector Torres, Annie Figueroa, Ashlyn Broughton, Landon Jennings, Olivia Brown, Quwan Ross, and Chandler Byrd. Each has obtained their NCRC certification. As of today, 100 WHS students have received the National Career Readiness Certificate (NCRC) certification.

During the showcase, Ruthie Courtney accepted the 2021 Maintaining Phase I plaque on behalf of Bradley County for maintaining the ACT Work Ready Community status.

Top photo: L to R: Sonya Wright-McMurry, Hector Torres, Annie Figueroa, Ashlyn Broughton, Landon Jennings, Olivia Brown, Quwan Ross, Chandler Byrd, and Mary Beck

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *